Back to Basics


Look what I had for lunch today…

n70-pics-008.jpg

Yup, was feeling a bit homesick for true-blue Pinoy food that I just to prepare a usual Friday staple (though I am very much aware that Friday was actually two days ago… 🙂 ).  Presenting, my very own version of Piniritong Hasa-Hasa at Ginisang Munggo (Fried Snapper and Sauteed Mung Beans)! Yum-o! 😀

 n70-pics-007.jpg

I was pleasantly surprised to find the hasa-hasa the last time I checked out the fish section at the local grocery.  Good thing I inspected the fishies more closely since they refer to hasa-hasa as “snapper” here… Siyempre, in my Pinoy mind, hasa-hasa o galunggong ang hinahanap ko – not knowing na “snapper” pala ang “international name” niya – hahaha! 😉 Eating hasa-hasa again after a long while is truly a welcome change from having the usual grilled hammour and fried sherry (local Arabian fishes) that are so abundantly found in this part of the world. 

n70-pics-005.jpg

 Thanks very much to Manong Ken and CTL of “Feeding the Boys” for providing the much-needed inspiration and guidance in cooking the munggo!  I am happy to say that, for the first time, the munggo came out just right and didn’t dry out.  Now I know that the secret should be pre-soaking the beans at least 4 hours before cooking and adding at least another cup of water while boiling them (I boiled them for another 45 minutes after rinsing out the liquid where I soaked them in).  To make the sauce more flavorful, I also put half a cup of chicken broth in addition to the shrimp paste recommended by CTL.  The only thing missing from my “creation” was the requisite dahon ng ampalaya or sili (bitter melon or chili leaves) since I have yet to find these in supermarket shelves here in the kingdom.  Again, since “oink-oink” is a “no-no” here, I made do with 1/2 kilo of peeled medium shrimps to complete the mix.  Okay na rin since shrimps are considered the healthier alternative naman. 🙂 

Of course, the ultimate “consuelo” apart from enjoying these comfort foods myself is that hubby and Rafa like them too (Luigi is more of a bread, soup and chicken person kasi)! Ginanahan tuloy akong mag-research at maghanap ng susunod na lulutuin ko.

Till my next cooking (mis)adventure – bon appetit, everyone! 🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Leap of Faith! on 21 October 2007 at 5:01 pm

    Burp! Gulat naman ako with your blog… I just ate that a few hours ago and now it’s in the blogosphere.

    I really miss the hasa2… and the munggo was just perfectly done… too bad your pictures really don’t do justice. Anyway, ganyan kapag low-tech ang camera.

    Looking forward to your next cooking adventure.

    Oo nga e.. di ko kasi mahanap yung digicam kaya phonecam na lang ang ginamit ko. 😦 Wish ko tuloy na may Canon iXus 900 na rin tayo like Raffy (*hint, hint!*) 😀

    Di bale, at least happy naman ako that you enjoyed what I prepared – sulit ang pagtatalop ko ng hipon habang iniilagan ko ang panghihila ni Marga ng shorts at shirt ko – talk about multi-tasking! Hahaha! 😀

    Reply

  2. that’s a very yummy lunch, pinks! i have yet to cook ginisang munggo, to think that it’s one of my favorite ulams…lalo na pag Lent. hahaha! manong ken’s website is also one of my favorites to visit when i need help with my cooking. 😀

    Thanks, Weng! 🙂 Happy naman ako at talagang mukhang nagustuhan naman ng mga “alaga” ko yung ulam since walang tira! Hahaha! Am sure masarap din yung munggo pag ikaw na ang nagluto…considering your “yummy” track record in the kitchen na well-documented din sa iyong mga blogs. Luto na! 😉

    Reply

  3. Posted by sardonicnell on 22 October 2007 at 6:14 pm

    naku pinky entry mo palang eh busog na ako! ginisang munggo is also one of my fave, paired with garlic pork chops. staple na rin sya for our family, never a week without it! maybe you can substitute spinach (either frozen or fresh) for the dahon ng ampalaya, cause that’s what i do with mine. my siblings don’t like ampalaya kasi eh. really looks good and im sure it taste superb!

    How I wish readily available din ang garlic pork chops dito and we don’t need to go to an open city to enjoy oink-ish delights – hahaha! 😀 Mukhang masarap na combo ang suggestion mo ha. Will try the spinach the next time I cook the munggo – will let you know how it goes…

    Reply

  4. try garlic chicken, that’s something else i cook if mom’s around. she does not eat oink kasi eh, hehehe!

    Will try this Nell. Thanks again for the suggestion!

    Reply

  5. […] And the requisite side dish? Ginisang Munggo (Sauteed Mung Bean Soup), of course! Perfect combination! For mung bean recipe, click here. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

