C’est bon!


I usually give in to my “lazy bones” during the weekends especially where cooking is concerned.  I try and avoid kitchen duty as much as possible during this time but when I find that I really can’t (such as yesterday), I try and stick to simple, hassle-free meals.

Hmmm…a “soup and sandwich” early dinner seemed to fit the bill.  With leftover French onion soup in the fridge, all I had to do was make simple, filling sandwiches for Keith and the boys.  As I had just whipped up some chicken ala king as well, the rest should be easy, right?

I should’ve just sliced up some bread, topped it with the chicken ala king, popped it into the oven and voila – dinner is served!

Except that I decided to give it a little twist.  I thought it would be neat to stick to the French theme of my meal (my sister would have loved it – right, Rina? 😉 ) so I took out the box of voulavent cases (it sounded so fancy – I just had to try it!) from the freezer, brushed the pastry with a little eggwash on top, popped those babies into the oven and came up with this instead…

dsc05711.jpg

A dozen pieces of Chicken ala King Voulavent goodness!

Although I would’ve wanted the pastry to be more buttery than what came out, the flakiness and softness of the warm voulavents were just right – yum! 🙂

dsc05709.jpg

Go ahead, take a bite!

Thankfully, all of us enjoyed the meal (burp!) we just had to blurt out (don’t forget the nasal accent here), “Ooh-la-la, c’est bon!” 😛

7 responses to this post.

  1. thank God for those frozen live savers, huh! 🙂 you’re lucky your boys are quite easy to please. a sandwich dinner wouldn’t quite work out with dondi unless it’s for breakfast or the real hefty ones from deli places, otherwise, you’ll find him rummaging through the fridge and pantry in just an hour or so. as for abby, she’s not much of a sandwich person…yet.

    good job on those fancy french goodies! 🙂

    Thanks, Weng. 🙂

    Actually, Luigi is quite happy with bread and soup but the two other boys (Keith and Rafa) are really true-blue rice-eaters. 😦 We are all trying to get into the habit of eating lighter dinners na since they say it’s supposed to be healthier daw. Not having much success with Keith, though, since hours after our light dinner, he told me he ate two pecan cookies and two slices of turkey pastrami! 😉 Oh well, slowly but surely (I guess!)…

    Reply

  2. looks so yummy! kami rin we can live on sandwiches and savory pastries, lalo na at we are trying to cut down on rice haha!

    Salamat! 🙂 As I told Weng nga e, we’re also trying now to eat less especially during dinner time and sandwiches seem to be the healthier alternative. Hope this translates to weight loss soon…

    Reply

  3. Posted by chichung on 14 March 2008 at 9:28 pm

    oh my, they look sooo yummy!! 🙂 are they as good as they look? maybe better?

    ako naman, i like to cook during the weekend since we normally eat out the entire week (i work so no time to cook!). kanina lang, i cooked fried rice and tempura. ayun! sira na naman diet! 🙂

    They were indeed a treat (or nabola na naman ako ng pamilya ko!), thanks very much! 🙂

    Wow, tempura! That’s one dish I would love to learn how to cook! Especially here where there’s a dire lack of Japanese restaurants… 😦

    Di bale, am sure you’ll burn all those fried rice and tempura calories with all the projects you’d be doing soon, right? 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by Leap of Faith! on 15 March 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Hon, those french thingies were so good. Bitin nga lang. Next time set aside one dozen for me, pleeease!

    Will get you one whole box on our next grocery trip… Teka, we’re supposed to be eating lighter to lose weight di ba? Looks like we won’t have much success if we eat lighter yet triple the quantity of our consumption! Bye-bye diet na ba ito? Oh no! :mrgreen:

    Reply

  5. looks good Pinks! namiss ko na yang Chicken ala King!

    buti pa sa household nyo, option ang non-rice. Sa amin, baka mag-huramentado ang kasama ko pag nagskip ng rice on at least two meals. 😀

    Thanks, Abby! 🙂 Kung pwede lang i-vacuum pack din ang chicken ala king para ipadala dyan, diba? 😉

    Actually, medyo may “silent protest” din from hubby and son #2 but they can’t really complain naman coz they don’t cook. In other words, no choice sila!

    Reply

  6. i don’t know how i could’ve missed this entry when i regularly lurk your blog…must’ve been the time i was busy finishing up my last few weeks of school. anyway, shall i say va-va-voulavent!!! these actually look so delish!

    you’re right, those french things are good. 😉 i am slowly getting used to having bread too with my meals, but now and then, i still miss my rice-rice-baby!

    btw, love the new food blog! keep it up, ses!

    Ikaw talaga, basta French, nahahanap mo! Bakit kaya???? 😆

    Thanks for actually leaving a comment this time… you, lurker girl , you!!! Take care!

    Reply

  7. […] believe it’s been three years since I posted my original chicken ala king blog.  What caught my eye though is that I’ve apparently never gotten around to posting the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

