Stuffed Bell Peppers (Tortang Sili)


Funny how my having a food blog seems to have also “inspired” hubby to think up foodie delights from our (not-so-distant) past life in Manila… The only difference is, instead of relying on our trusty helpers to make these yummy eats realities, I am now the one tasked to make these foodie wishes come true! 😆

Anyhoo, I’m happy to oblige him as much as I can since doing so means actually hitting two birds with one stone – making dear hubby happy (which, I guess, is the goal of every better half 😉 ) and also having new material to blog about! How’s that for a sweet deal, right?

And so, after flicking my “magic wand” (actually a politically correct term for “slaving away in the kitchen”), I am proud to say that the first of many foodie wishes is granted! 🙂

These babies are good to go!

Fresh from the oven and ready for some “lip-smackin’ lovin'”! Don’t worry, we made sure we took out the burnt bits before we dug in…

By the way, I found it weird that I couldn’t google a “decent” Pinoy-authored recipe for Tortang Sili so I followed this instead.  Some minor changes I did were to replace the ground beef with ground chicken and to lessen the amount of cooked rice to 1/2 cup.  I also decreased the cooking time to 20 minutes.

Lastly, keeping in mind that I was also feeding two young boys and a toddler who do not like too much “green stuff” when eating, I  split the peppers in half instead of just cutting the tops off and stuffing them as per the recipe.

Of course, being true-blue Pinoys, we still ate this with rice and with (would you believe!) Mang Tomas All-Around Sarsa as sauce.

The verdict? The “sili” (silly) grins (and satisfied tummies!) that I got from serving this dish may just make me cook this again soon… 🙂

 

 

8 responses to this post.

  1. Hon, kita mo naman at least mas-open ka na to try more recipes di ba? Mukhang tataba kami ng mga bata kung ganyan ka lagi ka inspired.

    I enjoyed this meal. Super na miss ko na siya. Thanks for cooking it again.

    Glad you liked it – even if I kinda burnt the top a bit…hahaha! 😆 You know naman I’d do (almost) anything for you, right? 😉 Labyu! Mwah!

    Reply

  2. i have to give this a try. masarap kasi ang mga bell peppers dito, manamis namis. pero you know pinks, we do torta quite differently, omelette style. and i have yet to make torta the way the kitchen gurus in my family does. hay. try and try. 🙂

    Yup, I know what you mean about omelette style as this is also how we did it at home when I was a kid. I find this a lot more challenging to do though than baking the peppers… you know me, the simpler, the better! Hahaha! 😀

    Reply

  3. […] bakit “nagliwanag” ang mukha ng aking mahal na kabiyak kamakailan, samahan ninyo ako dito.  […]

    Reply

  4. yum! the last time i had this was when my MIL made some during their visit…the first time i tried making them naman mejo overcooked din ang top! is it supposed to be that way kaya? haha!

    Hindi naman siguro… but I guess it’s quite hard kasi to achieve the “perfect done-ness” for this dish unless siguro nakatutok ka talaga sa oven while it’s cooking – hahaha! Thanks for dropping by, Ces!

    Reply

  5. will give this a try, too. alam mo ba, dahil sa blog mo, nakaka-revisit ako ng mga pagkain na matagal ko nang nalimutan hehehe. 😀

    Please do, Mee, and let me know how it goes… 😉

    Alam mo naman, kailangan maghalukay sa baul ng mga recipe para may mai-blog! 😆

    Reply

  6. it would be nice to try this 🙂 pag may time na ako 🙂

    Do let me know when it happens, Nina… Thanks for the visit! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Ate Pinky na-try ko yung Sipo pero big eggs ang ginamit ko. Kainis, nalimutan ko kuhanan ng pic, naubos agad e. Simot! Next week ulitin ko at kuhanan ko na talaga pruweba na may fans club ka na sa MK. Hehe! Thank you TKKT!

    Hala’t kahit ‘di mahilig si Jose sa bell peppers, subukan ko ‘to. I’m sure maiiba ihip ng hangin. 😀

    Wow naman, natuwa naman ako at nagustuhan ninyo yung sipo! 🙂 Sige nga, subukan nga kung mag-iba isip ni Jose about bell peppers – balitaan mo ako ha! 😉

    Reply

  8. […] Being on the tail-end of vacation mode, I was honestly tempted to just re-hash my previous blog on stuffed bell peppers for this week’s […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

