LaPiS: Holiday Goodies


I’d like to think that I share the sentiments of most people who equate anything “cinnamon-y” with the holidays.

Having said this, and perhaps a wee bit “encouraged” from my last dessert-making kitchen adventure, I again attempted to make yet another holiday sweet treat – apple pie!

This time, though, my apple pie had “mixed reviews”.  Though the pie filling turned out yummy, the homemade crust (again!) left so much to be desired (*sigh*).  However, when served this way, my “disastrous” pie crust thankfully was all but forgotten – yey! 😀

Apple pie a la mode heaven! 😎 Amazing what a dollop of whipped cream, a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a sprinkling of cinnamon can do!

Now, if only someone could only give me better suggestions on easy yet yummy pie crust recipes, I’d be forever grateful (*hint,hint*)… 😉

9 responses to this post.

  1. you’ll never go wrong with my neighbor stel’s apple crumble recipe! super delicious with just the right amount of sweetness! syempre hindi ako cause i haven’t really made my own in spite of always ‘planning’ to…

    Ooohhh…sounds very yummy indeed! 😎 Do you mind sharing the recipe? 😉

    Reply

  2. Hon, ne-excite ako sa suggestion ni Ces…apple crumble pie… I hope this is like the crust I like.

    It was a good first try (considering that it has been more than 10 years since you last made an apple pie). I’m sure you will perfect it on your second try.

    Yup – will definitely have at least a second go at it – sana mas okay na… will try Ge’s apple crumble crust first (*fingers crossed!*) 😉

    Reply

  3. That looks yummy. Hindi sya mukhang ‘disastrous”, pramis 🙂

    Coming from you, Iska, that is such a compliment – thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  4. These are memorable times, at least mas special yang nangyari di ba 🙂

    Ako,basta masarap, sige lang 😀

    Amen to that, TJulie! 🙂

    Reply

  5. I also make apple pie every year for our Christmas dessert. Your pie looks good to me 🙂

    Thanks for the encouraging comment, Dexie! Hope to see you again in my kitchen soon 😉

    Reply

  6. that looks good!!! ice cream, whipped cream, cinnamon, and the apple pie! 🙂

    Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  7. this looks good, nevertheless.. i’ve had pie disasters myself… it’s all a matter of practice. but thank GOD for whipped creams and vanilla ice cream! hehehe…

    Practice makes perfect – definitely 🙂

    Reply

  8. i have never dared to make my own crust, laging sa frozen pie crust section ng grocery ang derecho ko, haha! kaya i don’t think i’ll be a big help there, sorry! baka si weng makatulong sa iyo 🙂

    pero anything with whipped cream and ice cream gets a thumbs up from me 😀

    happy holidays! 🙂

    Okay lang. Na-“meet” ko na kasi si Ms Betty (Crocker) sa grocery last week so sana matulungan niya ako ma-improve ang aking pie crust – hehehe 😉

    Amen to what you said about anything with whipped cream and ice cream – yum!

    Reply

  9. Ay Ate Pinky napakabait niyang si “Ms. Betty.” 😀

    Pasensiya na la rin ako maiambag bagkus nangunguha pa nga ako! :)) Ang sarap!

    Oo nga – at pinapadali niya ang buhay ng marami sa atin! 😉

    Okay lang…enjoy naman ako magbasa ng comments mo tuwing bumibisita. Ingat lagi! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

