Mini-Cheeseburgers


The holidays have been quite “productive” for me in terms of “kitchen churn rate”. I’m happy that I was able to hone the “culinary” side of my “diva-ness” by trying  things I’ve never done before like baking (now this deserves a separate post altogether! 🙂 ) and cooking something at the spur of the moment – based on the ingredients I have available – and making up the recipe along the way!

Here is a result of one of those “culinary experiments” – mini-cheeseburgers!

Though we’ve been consciously minimizing our intake of beef ever since my “gall stone scare” early last year, I make it a point to include beef in our menu once in a while – just so the kids can also familiarize themselves with its taste.

For this dish, I initially soaked 3 slices of brown bread (shredded into pieces) with approximately a cup of low-fat milk.  After that, I mixed this with half a kilo of extra lean beef (you may switch to the “fatty” kind if you prefer it to be more juicy), about 5 cloves of crushed garlic, half a head of minced white onion, 2 stalks of chopped celery, 1 whole egg and salt and pepper to taste.  I then formed the mixture into mini-patties which yielded about 20 pieces.

To cook, I lightly greased a non-stick pan with canola oil, flipped and fried away! 😎 Just when the burgers are about to be done, I sprinkled grated mozarella cheese on top and covered the pan for about 3 minutes or so to melt the cheese. 

You may serve this in little buns with your condiments of choice or with steamed plain rice (like we did).

I’m pleased that all the kids (and my big “kid-at-heart”) loved it as it turned out still juicy and very flavorful.  And since they’re “mini-sized”, it’s easier for the kids to finish it (and get seconds…and thirds too!).

Bon appetit!

One response to this post.

  1. I seriously loved this… so juicy. Asar kasi yung mga dry burgers. I look forward to the next batch. Jollibee move over!

    Naks naman! Kaya labs kita e – lakas ng bilib mo sa “powers” ko – hehehe 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

