LaPiS: Left-Overs


I almost did not have an entry for this week since leftovers are probably the last thing I would want to take a photo of (if you know what I mean πŸ˜‰ ).Β 

Yet, as luck would have it, I remembered that I actually managed to unwittingly make something that would fit into this week’s theme – yey!

From the leftover siomai wrappers (I actually used egg roll wrappers since it is quite difficult to “source” proper siomai wrappers here) and some cheddar cheese slices, I made these…

Yummy cheese sticks! 😎

The “after” shot… Oops, didn’t realize they cook so easily! πŸ˜‰

Though they came out a tad “darker” than what I wanted, I’m glad that there still wasn’t anything left over from these leftovers! All’s well that ends well, I guess!

Happy Lasang Pinoy Sundays to all! πŸ˜›

15 responses to this post.

  1. creative…would have enjoyed this more though if it were a turon…hint! hint!

    Turon? No prob… that is, if you could find me some “decent” saba bananas first in this part of the world – hehehe! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  2. I remember sa school canteen noong college they serve this, too, paglubog ng siomai wrapper cheese sticks ahon agad. Kaya pala. Akala ko dati undercooked kaya di ako bumibili. Hehehe.

    My LaPiS post is here. Happy Sunday!

    So now na alam mo nang mabilis lang pala maluto yung balat, bibili ka na ba? πŸ˜‰ Hope you do try these sometime… am sure you’d like it at the very least – hehehe

    Reply

  3. I love doing this, with kahit anong cheese! Amazing the cheese didn’t ran out nung nag-melt!

    True! Mahirap maghanap ng saba– πŸ˜€

    Guess when the outer part of the cheese got cooked very quickly, it acted as some sort of “barrier” which helped in stopping the rest of the cheese from oozing out… just a theory, though πŸ˜€

    Reply

  4. i guess the oil is too hot for the cheese sticks to handle :))

    “dont cha wish your oil is hot like me” πŸ˜†

    Here is Mine

    magandang araw ka-lasa-ista πŸ™‚
    Salamat sa pagbisita πŸ™‚

    Yup, figured that out too late… sadly… 😦 And I don’t really wish my oil was as hot as you dahil baka masunog lahat ng niluluto ko sa init pagnagkataon – hahaha! πŸ˜†

    Reply

  5. haha! that’s OK. some loves ’em dark and crunchy!

    Hehehe… you’re too kind, Iska! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  6. omigosh, I learned to eat this because of my nephews and nieces…’merienda’ nila sa hatinggabi! *lol*

    oks lang medyo dark, crunchy!!!

    have a good week ahead, Pinky πŸ˜‰

    Oo nga, kids just love this for one reason or another… Salamat sa “pagpuri” pa rin sa aking “black beauties” – hahaha! And hope your week turns out great too, Thess! 😎

    Reply

  7. yummy! oo, mabilis nga maluto yung wrapper, kaya sa amin ganyan din ang nangyayari. lol. love the melted cheese!

    Awww…thanks so much for your “comforting” words, Maiylah, truly sweet of you! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  8. it’s a healthy snack, too! love cheese sticks…masarap din ang turon na may cheese sticks.

    Turon na may cheese sticks? Hmmm…that one I have yet to try! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. ummm…medyo nasunog nga yung wrapper. but as long as the cheese didn’t burn that’s ok.

    my entry is HERE

    Thankfully, the cheese didn’t burn so the kids (and me!) were still able to enjoy the cheese sticks – the (almost) burnt wrapper, not withstanding… πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  10. Gusto ko ang tostado. πŸ˜€ Sigurado enjoy ang mga chikitings ninyo dito.

    Inggitin ko naman kayo sa Turon (este Valencia raw dahil ang Turon ay munggo) ng kami’y nagbakasyon sa kamag-anak ni Jose nung pasko. Kay sarap! With langka and all. Bad ko noh? πŸ˜€

    O Kuya Keith, Saba raw muna! Good luck! Hehehe!

    Ang turon ay munggo? Bakit daw? Ngayon ko lang nadinig yan ha! Hehehe πŸ™‚

    Sa awa ng Diyos, nasarapan pa rin naman ang mga bata (o takot lang sa akin) kaya ubos pa rin!

    Reply

  11. I always plan to make cheese sticks but never ever got around to doing it. πŸ™‚ Hurrah for leftover makeovers!

    “Leftover makeovers” – love the term! 😎 G’leng-g’leng talaga ni cousin Weng! πŸ˜€

    Reply

  12. witty indeed pinky! thanks for reminding me, tomorrow na talaga i will get some wrappers and have the kids try this!:)

    I’m sure it will a feast for the eyes as well as for the palate – as always! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  13. I love making these using mozarella cheeze (the stick type). Aren’t they oh-so-good!

    I used cheddar for these – mozarella sounds like a good idea! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  14. this is one of my fave finger foods.. i make some kind of a mayo dip to go with this (as if it’s not fattening enough, huh?)… so good! hmmm…

    Oh yes! Thanks for reminding me, Jescel! Wasabi mayo sounds good to me – yum! 😎

    Reply

  15. Posted by gracita on 18 January 2009 at 3:48 pm

    the next time you decide to make cheesticks again, why not add a strip of green bell pepper inside? i swear, it makes a big difference! parang pizza! πŸ™‚

    Ooohhh…will definitely try it! Pizza cheese sticks – delish! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

