Year of the Ox(oy)


When I want something quick and easy to cook (which is almost always), I turn to familiar recipes which remind me of “home sweet home”.

What better to fit the bill than this…

Good ol’ shrimp-tofu fritters – or okoy, in the vernacular.  Whether eaten for lunch, merienda (snack) or dinner, with the familiar soy-vinegar-garlic dip, by itself, or with steaming white rice, it just hits the spot everytime for me. Yummy comfort food – that’s what it is – simply delish. :mrgreen:

And in case you feel some “okoy munchies” soon, click here to grab the recipe I used for a quick fritter fix. Happy eating! 😀

 

 

6 responses to this post.

  1. I love Okoy! And yours looks very appetizing! My name is Alisa and I would like to invite you to Foodista.com – the cooking encyclopedia everyone can edit – Would also love a link to your blog from our site. Here’s how you can create inbound links from our site, Check it out here. This is a great way for you to build blog traffic and connect with other food lovers! Also feel free to share your recipes and tips with us!Thanks!

    Hi Alisa! Actually, you’re the second blog pal to invite me to Foodista. Sorry but haven’t really checked the Foodista site yet. Will definitely do so soon. Thanks for dropping by!

    Reply

  2. OMG! You just reminded me of a childhood fave of mine. My mother used to make this a lot.. thanks!

    No prob, Jescel. 🙂 Glad this brought back fond childhood memories!

    Reply

  3. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Something new for me to experiment on! =9

    Glad you found it useful, Rocks. Do tell how it goes. 😉

    Reply

  4. Okoy lang ng Lola ko kinakain ko pero kung sa itsura lang, sorry sa Lola ko pero mas maganda ang OX(oy) mo. 😀

    Baka naman in this case e “looks good” lang ang sa akin pero “tastes even better” ang kay Lola! So pareho pa ring panalo, di ba? 😉

    Reply

  5. Posted by Leap of Faith! on 4 February 2009 at 12:09 pm

    This okoy tasted really better than you previous attempts… I think using the cooking shrimps (than the larger ones) was a good idea. Looking forward to the next okoy session.

    Sure thing… oks na oks! 😉

    Reply

  6. […] basically the same recipe as my earlier okoy (shrimp-tofu fritters) except that instead of bean sprouts, I used thinly-sliced squash strips.  […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

