LaPiS: Layer-EAT-up!


What do you get when you saute two cans of corned beef in garlic, onion and tomatoes…

Add a layer of whole kernel corn (one big can approximately) on top of it…

Place a final layer of mashed potatoes (with 1/4 cup milk, 1 tbsp butter, salt and pepper to taste) with chopped green onions…

And finally pop it in the oven till the top is slightly brown?

Why, it’s quick and easy (yet very yummy) Corned Beef Casserole, of course! 😎

This is my entry for this week’s Lasang Pinoy Sundays with the theme, “Layer Eat Up”.

To take a peek at the other “layered entries”, just click on the LaPiS icon on my sidebar.

13 responses to this post.

  1. good idea, and very creative! 🙂
    love the shots, too!

    Thanks! Appreciate the “kitchen visit” too.. 😉 Do come by again, okay?

    Reply

  2. as for me i call that “empty plate”

    *burp* *drool*

    ate, another serving pls 😀

    my entry is here

    magandang araw ka-lasa-ista 🙂
    Salamat sa pagbisita 🙂

    Hehehe 🙂 No prob, Jay, help yourself!

    Reply

  3. mukhang masarap ito..magaya nga…hehe

    Sure, Peachy! Gayahin ko naman yung yogurt parfait mo 😉

    Reply

  4. Wow! That is quick and easy! I’ll probably try this one! Yummy!

    Hi Zerisse! Please do tell me how it goes once you do, okay? 😉

    Reply

  5. Posted by mushroomsfromhome on 9 February 2009 at 2:25 am

    have not done this dish before. your fotos make me want to try it soon! the corned beef, the corn and the potatoes — the kids will like it.

    Hi Miriam! Yes, my two boys love this too. 🙂

    Reply

  6. i don’t really eat beef pero… you and your dish almost had me at hello. 🙂

    Sayang, Mee, since you don’t eat beef na pala, can’t really say that “I complete you” – hahaha! 😆

    Kami rin ni Keith, we are now trying to veer away from beef as much as possible for health reasons but we do have the occasional “beef treat” (like this one!) once in a while.

    Reply

  7. totally creative.. I made a casserole dish myself… :o)

    Cool! 😎 Nice to hear we have “related” entries this week… Thanks for dropping by!

    Reply

  8. Corn and corned beef sounds new to me 😀 Wow! I haven’t tried that but I will. Since Jescel had Shepherd’s pie and you have this, now di ko alam alin uunahin ko! Yum!

    (Humahabol, naku late na naman haha)

    If you “live on challenges”, baka dapat unahin mo yung kay Jescel since obviously mas madali yung sa akin – beginner level, kumbaga – hahaha! 😆

    Will check out your post soon. Take care, G! 🙂

    Reply

  9. ooohlala! i want to make this…tonight! if i get to grab 2 tins of corned beef, that is. looks really good pinky!!!i can almost taste it!

    Thanks, Ces! 🙂 You won’t even break a sweat with this one, I promise… 😉

    Reply

  10. Posted by Leap of Faith! on 11 February 2009 at 10:15 am

    Love this, Hon… one of my favorites!

    Thanks, Hon! That’s absolutely thrilling to know… hehehe 😀

    Reply

  11. naku, mukhang hindi ko ito magagawa. we have stopped buying corned beef eh. unless i can will myself into making my own corned beef. hee hee. yung spam baka matagalan pa bago namin i-give up. one sinful canned goody at a time. 😀

    E di do the harder version na lang, cousin, yung Shepherd’s Pie – am sure sisiw lang sa iyo yon! Hahaha! 😀

    Reply

  12. doing this for dinner tonight:) pizza for the kids though…

    Great! Do let me in on the “verdict”, okay? 😉

    Reply

  13. What a creative idea! It’s like the pinoy version of shepherd’s pie 🙂

    That’s what I’ve been told nga… 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

