Angel Food Cake


I remember my mother-in-law telling me that the only cake she is capable of making (and that it was so easy to do too!) is Angel Food Cake.  And since she herself has admitted that being a kitchen wiz is probably harder for her than being a pedia-neonatologist (which she, incidentally, is), I readily believed her and promised myself that one day would be my “Angel Cake Day”.

Well, I guess my Angel Cake Day has finally come.  Armed with a “googled” recipe, an excess of egg whites left over from two recent Leche Flan making sprees (related post to follow 🙂 ) and finally getting my hands on the “elusive” Cream of Tartar (can’t believe I found only ONE supermarket – out of the three or so we previously went to – carrying this ingredient here!), I decided to go for it.

And here, my friends, is what came out of my first Angel Cake attempt… 😉

With its “full body shot” closely following suit below…

Taste-wise, though, it was admittedly still far from “heavenly” since I probably would need to tweak the recipe a bit (lessen the sugar by half a cup) and stick to the baking time instructions more strictly (the “bounce back when lightly touched with a finger” thingie? I think I won’t take it as seriously the next time) so that I get the light and airy consistency I’m looking for.

Also, I would still definitely use fresh fruits again (with a sprinkling of icing sugar) as topping when I do a “repeat” since I feel that these complement the cake better than the usual frosting.

All in all, I think it was a “respectable” Angel Cake “debut”, though, that would still make mom-in-law proud – hahaha! 😆

 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. bravo! maybe the repeat can be on your next home leave so i can taste-test it. 🙂

    That can be arranged. 😉 Have materials and ingredients, will bake!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Leap of Faith! on 11 February 2009 at 10:13 am

    Pinks, kaya ka favorite ni Mom eh… now she will love you even more since you are the only one of her three daughters-in-law who decided to follow in her “professional” baking career. I’m proud of you!

    Blasphemy, I say! Hahaha! 😆 Knowing YOU are proud of me is consuelo enough for me. Mwah! 😉

    Reply

  3. I have never tried Angel cake, the Devil teases me to the other side lagi eh 😀

    True, cream of tartar is nowhere to be found here too…sa UN commissary lang where I only ask for friends para makapagpabili….

    DHL!

    Resist the “dark side” naman paminsan-minsan – hahaha! 😆

    I know, nate-tempt na talaga ako magpa-DHL nung wala akong mahagilap na Cream of Tartar… buti na lang the last supermarket try was the charm for me pala! 😀

    Take care, G!

    Reply

  4. Wow! Heaven sent ka talaga sa mga babies mo. 🙂

    And them to me 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

