Taco Love


Taking the lead from some of our friends’ own “Taco Night” experience, I decided to give this long-forgotten treat (echoes of Tia Maria or Mexicali – yup, giving my age away again! ๐Ÿ™‚ ) a try.ย  And when better to do this than for Valentine’s lunch? ๐Ÿ˜‰

After all, the process is fairly simple as the only cooked ingredient would practically be just the beef (I used half a kilo of the “extra lean” kind, incidentally).ย ย I sauteed this in 5 cloves of crushed garlic and one small chopped white onion.ย  After which,ย I added one 8 0z can of tomato sauce and dashes of hot sauce, salt and pepperย to taste.

The rest of the ingredients just needed some “manual preparation” on my part – as I unfortunately do not have a food processor here.ย  The veggies – two tomatoes, one small white onion,ย pitted black olivesย and a handful of iceberg lettuce – were cut into bite-size pieces while the cheddar cheese (about a cup) was grated.

The final ingredient to complete the set-up – a cup of sour cream – was a bit trickier though.ย  Since sour cream is again quite hard to find in this part of the world, I had to make do with mixing a cup of ordinary cream with 1/4 cup of cane vinegar.ย  Good thing it worked! Yipee! ๐Ÿ˜€

So without further ado, here’s what our Valentine taco lunch looked like…

Ready for the set-up…

This is how people normally eat their tacos, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

But I like mine all mixed up like this… so I don’t have to hold the stuffed taco shells and risk making a mess (like I am prone to do – heehee!).ย  ๐Ÿ˜› I think they call this “Taco Salad”…

But I’d like to call it… Taco Love (*contented sigh*)! ๐Ÿ˜Ž

So how did your Valentine lunch (or dinner) go?

4 responses to this post.

  1. the tacos look so good. i sometime substitute ground beef for chicken/turkey,for a lower calorie ;oD I also like to add diced avocado-it’s great. It’s add another layer of taste and texture.

    Taking off from your tip, I actually did another taco batch yesterday – this time using ground chicken – and it still tasted great – thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ Avocadoes are quite hard to come by here but will definitely give it a try if I happen to get hold of them.

    Reply

  2. Wow na naman ang presentation. ๐Ÿ™‚ Ang galing, yung week before kami mag-bakasyon sa work apartment ni Jose nag-tacos din kami. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hindi nga lang ako marunong gumawa ng sour cream and guacamole kaya nag-settle kami sa mayonnaise at salsa ng old el paso. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Lately kasi we’ve sort of been into a “Mexican phase” in terms of food – thus the tacos. ๐Ÿ™‚ You can now make your own sour cream, Twinx! Super easy lang – mix 1/4 cup of ordinary cane vinegar with a cup of Nestle cream and voila! Do let me know if you decide to prepare your own tacos soon, okay? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

  3. We all went to the Old Spaghetti House for lunch then Allan and I went to Tony Roma’s for his birthday / valentine dinner celebration ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great to hear that there is already TOSH in Alabang (I’m assuming here..) – would love to go there on our home leave! ๐Ÿ™‚ And to the only real-life “Valentine couple” we know – happy, happy birthday(s) again! We look forward to seeing you both again soon! Mwah!!! ๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply

  4. Posted by Leap of Faith! on 25 February 2009 at 9:45 am

    Surprisingly, I loved the tacos. It was delicious and I enjoyed hearing the crunch while I chew. I hope they sell the taco shells in cup form, though, so it is easier to eat.

    Surprisingly? Why? And I honestly thought you were a big taco fan when you easily finished off 4 shells in one sitting – hahaha! Labyu! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

