Flan-ning…Again!


Remember last month’s albino leche flan? Or my utterly disastrous first leche flan try  of 2007?

Well, I guess, whoever said “never say die” probably had me (at least in my “flan-ning endeavors” 😆 ) in mind. 

Taking to heart all your valuable comments, I dipped into the “leche-flan-making” pool yet again and came up with these…

Whaddyaknow? White sugar indeed caramelizes into this! 😉  Still couldn’t get rid of the “unsightly” bubbles though… 😦

Slicing through the middle part though was another story… it was s-m-o-o-t-h and just so delicious – yey!

Finally, a flan I could be froud, este, proud of pala – hahaha! 😎  Fractice indeed makes ferpect (almost, at least!). 😛

PS I’d like to acknowledge  “Flan Masters” JMom and Pinoy Food Blog whose leche flan recipes I took inspiration from in coming up with my own version.  Thanks, guys! You’re the best! 🙂

4 responses to this post.

  1. You’re welcome! I’m glad it worked out for you. Your flan certainly looks delicious! You made me want some 🙂

    By the way, re. the bubbles… from what I’ve read and also from experience, it helps if you don’t turn up the heat too high or let the flan get up to heat too fast. That’s where the water bath (i.e. cooking it in a pan of water) helps. Also, try not to mix it vigorously. Then when pouring it into the pan, try to pour in a steady stream so you don’t create more bubbles.

    What an honor to have you visit my site, JMom! 🙂 I actually steamed this for 40 minutes. Tried the water bath earlier but for some reason (and after 2 long hours of waiting!), the flan mixture was still liquid when I checked!

    Will try your other tips during my next “flan-ning sessions” 😉 and hope my later flans will at least come close to yours (*fingers crossed*).

    Great flan!

    Reply

  2. way to go, pinks!

    Thanks, Weng! Third time turned out to be the charm for me 🙂

    Reply

  3. Yahoo! Yummie!

    Thanks, Twinx 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by Leap of Faith! on 25 February 2009 at 9:44 am

    Definitely better than the last one… I’m sure your third try will be the best… so when do you schedule it again? Suggestion lang, pwede tig-iisang liyanera tayong lahat?

    Hon, third try na nga ito e!!! Not reading ha (*hmp!*)… 😉 Bili muna ako ng additional liyaneras sa SM pag-uwi ko para matupad ang wish mo – hehehe! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

