Spreading some Munchkin Lovin’


Just a shout-out to my fave blogging cousin and kitchen guru extra-ordinaire, Munchkin Mommy, on the first anniversary of her oh-so-fab food blog, Cafe Munchkin!

Happy, happy anniversary, Weng! Here’s to more yummilicious posts to come! πŸ™‚

And, before I forget, here are my answers to CM’s blog birthday blowout gimmick:

GREATEST INFLUENCE(S) ON MY COOKING: I always have fond memories of going home from school and having my merienda (afternoon snack) specially prepared by my Mom.Β  Be it cookies, cakes, pies, pizza or tacos – I certainly looked forward to that home-cooked goodness (and the warm feeling of being cared for and loved) only Mama’s cooking can give.Β  More recent influences are online buddies Ces, Thess and of course, cousin Weng, who inspire me to “stretch my cooking Mama muscles” in preparing treats from my little kitchen here in the desert. πŸ™‚

FOOD PREFERENCES: I bow to the yummy altar of Japanese food! πŸ˜€ For me, the Japanese have mastered the art of making the gastronomic experience one that makes full use of all the senses – from their elegant food presentation to their delicate combinations of flavors – the Japanese are just tops! I say it again… Nihon-GO!!!Β  And yes, what is a meal without my “just desserts”?Β  A meal is just not a meal if my sweet tooth is not satisfied. Ice cream, cakes or pastries – make me happy…gimme some! πŸ˜†

HOW THESE INFLUENCES COME THROUGH: From my Mom, I have learned how satisfying it is to lovingly prepare meals for your own family and how doubly sweet it becomes when you see satisfied smiles (and hear the occasional burps!) after hubby and the kids partake of the food served to them.

From my online “cooking gurus”, I am inspired to experiment with new things to re-create their culinary successes in my own kitchen.

And from the Japanese, I try my best to present my food the best way I can since I am a firm believer that the desire to taste something is triggered first by howΒ visually appealing the dish is when served.

So there.Β  Hope I didn’t bore you too much with the details… πŸ™‚

And to all those who dropped by, why not spread some Munchkin lovin’ too? πŸ˜‰

4 responses to this post.

  1. “…my fave blogging cousin and kitchen guru extra-ordinaire, Munchkin Mommy…” For saying that, panalo ka na! Bwahahaha! πŸ™‚

    Thank you for joining my little anniversary gimmick, Pinks! Ang bilis ah! I have yet to answer my own question but it will most probably read pretty much like yours.

    Being introduced to full time kitchen duty only about two years ago, I find it hard to believe that I inspire people with my food posts. There was this one reader who tried one of my recipes and posted the results on her blog. When I visited her entry and left her a message, she was so thankful and honored that I dropped by. E, ako lang naman yun! She’s a very sweet reader. Hee hee.

    Anyway, good luck! As I said, competition shouldn’t be so tough. Kaunti lang naman kayo. πŸ˜€

    *Mwah!*

    Oo nga, it does feel great to have people (especially the ones you know only through the net) appreciate your work after trying it out for themselves… I’m sure dadami pa lalo ang mga ganitong experience mo as your blog readership grows. πŸ™‚

    Shouldn’t be tough? E ano nga naman ba ako compared sa 30K+ na hits mo – waaahhh!!! Takot na ako – the odds are overwhelming!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Leap of Faith! on 25 February 2009 at 8:40 am

    Happy anniversary, Weng!

    Ang bilis mo nga mag post ng entry, Hon. Feeling mo mas malaki ang chances mo of winning if you go first… Weng is using a Randomizer so, hopefully, that should make it fair and square. I do wish we get all those goodies that Weng is giving away though.

    Huh? Di ba “first come, first served” ? Bwahaha!!! πŸ˜† Yes, the Munchkin loot bag is super NICE – I LIKE!!! Now, help me visualize…(say it with me-“It’s ours…it’s ours!”). πŸ˜€

    Reply

  3. Kinilabutan ako rito. Grabe naiisip ko pa naman kayong dalawa ni Ate Weng. Please check this award from me if you have time. Ako po ay matutulog muna. I’ll drop by again. Araw-araw naman ako rito e. Hehe! πŸ˜€

    http://twinkiegolosino.blogspot.com/2009/02/best-mom.html

    Thanks for this again, Twinx! Dami ko nang utang na tags sa iyo… πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  4. […] what the heck, Camille, Pinky, Julie and Dang, I decided just now as I type this that I’ll send you a small token as […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

