Camaron Rebosado (Batter-Coated Prawns)


Lent’s halfway through and possibly one of the easier meals to prepare for the remainder of the season would be this…

We usually eat these with sweet-chili (store-bought) dipping sauce coupled with plain, steamed, white rice.  What I like about  how this dish turned out was that the batter just lightly coated the prawns and didn’t at all compete with the prawns’ flavor.  I prefer it this way rather than having the usual “bread-like” consistency for the coating which tends to “distract” me from enjoying the main ingredient of the dish itself.

This recipe is actually part of the box of hand-written food recipes given to me by my mom shortly before I got married (what a perfect and personalized wedding gift, if I may say so myself – bless her heart!) and it’s my pleasure to share it with you. 🙂

WHAT YOU NEED: 1/2 kilo prawns, shelled and deveined with tails intact; 1/2 tbsp rock salt; a dash of ground black pepper; juice of 1/2 a lemon (or 3-4 pcs calamansi)

FOR THE BATTER: 1 egg, 3 1/2 tbsp corn starch, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp salt

HOW TO: Season prawns with salt, pepper and lemon juice.  Mix well and set aside for 30 minutes.  In a separate bowl, mix all ingredients for batter mixture.  Dip prawns in batter before deep-frying in very hot oil.  Serve hot.  May also be served with sweet and sour sauce or catsup.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lori78 on 25 March 2009 at 11:44 am

    Your blog is delicious! Haha…finally found a fellow pinay!

    God bless,

    Lori
    http://www.lori78.wordpress.com

    Hi Lori! Thanks very much for your kind comment. 🙂 So nice of you to drop by and to actually leave a comment… please feel free to visit again soon, “kabayan”! Take care and God bless too! 😉

    Reply

  2. Posted by Twinkie on 28 March 2009 at 1:16 am

    Your mom is sooo sweet. 🙂

    Parang Pamana Restaurant ang eksena. I just heard it from Ate Twinkle; they had a little celebration of our birthday there. Anyway, I hope that someday, I’ll have the courage to try this “lovingly yours” recipe. (Knees wobble).

    Twinx, ano yong Pamana Restaurant? 😉 Madali lang ito, promise… kayang-kaya ng powers mo! 😀

    Reply

  3. I prefer it this way rather than having the usual “bread-like” consistency for the coating which tends to “distract” me from enjoying the main ingredient of the dish itself. Ouch!!! Hahaha!

    Oops, sorry po! 😳 I’m sure though pag natikman ko ang version mo e I’d be more than willing to change my views on the coating… hehehe! Peace, cousin! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

