Shabu-Shabu


Ever since I chanced upon this dish on co-DFS wifey Red’s site, I was raring to give it a “test drive” in my own kitchen…

So today, with Red’s recipe in hand (which I tweaked a bit here and there given the ingredients which were available to me), it was green-and-go for my first shabu-shabu cooking adventure – yipee!

And, I’m pleased to say, the result was delicious!  Even our two-year-old had seconds. 😎

Here’s a peek at how it turned out…

And for anyone who may be interested, here’s what went into my shabu-shabu version.

YOU NEED: 10 pcs crabsticks (halved), 15 pcs homemade shrimp-fish balls (thanks to Munchkin Mommy for the recipe!), 2 small heads of brocolli, two handfuls of dried shiitake mushrooms (soaked in water for 15 minutes prior to cooking and then squeezed dry), one medium tomato (sliced into wedges)

FOR THE BROTH: 6 cups seasoned (with salt and pepper) chicken broth (this one I again made from scratch), 9 tsps rice vinegar, 9 tsps Kikkoman soy sauce, 2 cloves garlic (minced), 4 stalks celery (sliced diagonally – about an inch long), half a white onion bulb (sliced)

HOW TO: Put all ingredients for broth together and bring to rolling boil in a saucepan. Put in crabsticks and seafood balls and cook for about 5 minutes.  Reduce heat and put the rest of the vegetables in and cook for about 3 minutes.  Serve hot in bowls and enjoy!

Thanks very much again Red for this wonderful find of a dish! Here’s looking forward to sharing and swapping more yummy recipes with you. 😉

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. naks, special mention pa ako. hahaha! 😀 same great food you’ll get from a shabu-shabu place at a fraction of the price! wais na misis! 🙂

    What can I say? Guess it takes one to know one – hahaha! 😆

    Reply

  2. wow, this looks fun, yummy, healthy and easy.. what more could I ask for? :oD I’ve only tried this in chinese restaurants, but i’ve never done this at home.

    You took the words right out of my mouth – definitely yummy, healthy and easy 🙂 Do give it a try and see for yourself! 😉 Thanks for dropping by!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

