Greek Food Galore!


For health reasons, I have managed to stay away from eating beef and drinking soda for the longest time…

…until our recent holiday in Greece melted all my will power and resolve (*sigh*)! 😳

It all started with this…

Thought bubble: Still healthy eating here… after all, they’re still veggies! 😀 Never mind the generous dabble of olive oil and the humongous slab of Feta cheese…

Which was quickly followed by the “main event”…

Oohlala! If beef always were as tender and tasty as these babies, I might as well throw all caution to the wind!   BTW, souvlaki is “Greece’s signature beef, pork or chicken brochettes marinated in lemon juice and oregano, sizzled on skewers, and folded into a thick bready pita along with crisp veggies and garlicky tzatziki (yogurt dip). Think of this dish as the Hellenic answer to the hamburger.”

And washed down with these…

Been awhile since I’ve seen soda served in bottles like these – perfect complement to our souvlaki meal (*burp!*)

Yes,  I am guilty… but, dare I say, this memorable trip to the highly-recommended Greek taverna Thanassi’s was all worth it! 😎

Now, back to my “regular (food) programming”…  Beef and soda, it was fun while it lasted… thanks for the (foodie)memories – but no thanks for the extra calories! Hahaha! 😆

What? You’re asking what we had for dessert?  Be patient… I’ve reserved an entirely new post for that… very soon! 😉

4 responses to this post.

  1. Nakakaingit ate pinks! Nagutom tuloy ako bigla. I love vegies, I love cheese even more *sigh*

    Namiss kita ha…

    Hi Lori! Oo nga, medyo natagalan since my last post… di bale, babawi ako – promise! Thanks for visiting my kitchen! 😀

    Reply

  2. Posted by Leap of Faith! on 10 October 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Oh, I love Thannasis… and I love Greek food! Thank God your version of the Greek salad is delicious… now you can work on finding the recipe of the souvlaki.

    Souvlaki ala Thanassis? OMG! You might need to send me back to Athens again to remind me just how good it tastes like so I can try and “replicate” it here… hehehe! 😉

    Reply

  3. Posted by ces on 10 October 2009 at 2:05 pm

    this is an absolute treat, pinx! though virtual ang dating…just looking at the pics makes my mouth water and my taste buds panic! i just had my lunch but upon seeing these pics my intestines went berserk! makes me wanna go back to the table..
    btw, that souvlaki shish kebab plate gave me an idea on what to do with my chicken parts in the freezer…the marinade tastes yummy..hmmm!

    Uy, bagong bisita sa kusina… welcome, Doc Cecile! 😀 Great that you enjoyed this post. Bilis, gawa na ng souvlaki… am sure enjoy si Papa Aldwin sa luto mo. 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by Papa and Mama on 27 October 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Super sarap the Greek salad and Souvlaki plate !! Won’t mind taking these with Diet soda.

    I know… had to ditch my “no beef and soda policy” just for this – hahaha! But a trip to the weighing scale recently showed the obvious “consequences” of this, ahem, moment of weakness 😳 Guess who’s not laughing now… 😐 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

