Lunch Time…Crunch Time!


Just when I thought my life would be a tad easier while the kids were at school and hubby was at work…

Alas, I realized that truth could really be stranger (and more hectic!) than fiction – especially the “temporary-freedom-enjoyed-by-mom-while-the-brood’s-away”  kind  – hahaha! 😀

Translation: I had to step up my “diva duties” in the kitchen to make sure that my brood was well-fed (yes, including dear hubby!) even when away from home.  This meant doubling my usual kitchen prep work and churn rate, so to speak, to ensure that packed lunches and snacks were good-to-go before 7 am every weekday.  What’s more, since it would be the first time that diva-lette would be eating away from home without me, I had to also make sure to be creative in presenting her food so she would be enticed to eat it.  

Hmmmm… quite a tall order for a certified “un-morning” person like me! What’s a girl to do? 🙄

Answer: Apart from a quick trip to the friendly neighborhood Japanese store for my supplies and  preparing the food the night before (post-dinner and dish duty) and letting it chill in the fridge overnight, I found my much-needed packed-lunch inspiration and ideas from….(drum roll please)

My proclaimed bento gurus – Kitchen Cow and Munchkin Mommy! (Oh, the joys of technology and the internet!)

And though I’m admittedly still a looooong way off  in mastering their “art”, I am nonetheless pleased with what I’ve been able to do for the past two weeks of my “packed lunch-making” life. 😎  

Allow me to share with you some of my favorite (wannabe) bentos…

For my “honeybunny Papa Bear” … 😀

 

 

Thanks to Kaoko for this wonderful idea! Had to make do with nori strips though since I forgot to buy nori sheets!

For our two ” tween-agers” …

And, finally, for our pre-school princess…

 

Pretty neat, huh? I thought so too 😉 More bento lovin’ soon!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Leap of Faith! on 28 October 2009 at 3:48 pm

    Hon, congratulations! The kids and I really love your wonderful (and delicious) creations. I know it must be really hard for you to wake up early and make those snacks. But I’m sure you’ll agree that the fully eaten meals (vs. many leftovers) and happy smiles are worth it!

    I’m so looking forward to your future creations.

    By the way, thanks to all your cyber bento gurus who provide you with all the inspiration!

    Yes, the “simot” lunch boxes and happy smiles from the kids are just priceless! 😀 I just hope I don’t run out of ideas and “inputs” from my gurus soon… After all, I still have 8 more months of baon-making to go – hahaha! 😆

    Reply

  2. WOW! very creative pinky! what an awesome mom you are! 🙂

    Thanks, Teacher Anna! 🙂 Kataba naman ng puso ang comment mo 😉

    Reply

  3. great job, pinks! 🙂 i no longer stress out about making abby’s baon (manginggit daw ba!) because i’m a parent volunteer at her school. i come during lunch time so i just take abby’s baon with me. 😉 hee hee. 😀

    Good for you! Kung pwede lang sana similar arrangement here kaso malabo… bawal kaya mag-drive mga babae dito – waaahhh! At kung pwede, medyo I’ll still think twice about it… the drivers here can get C-R-A-Z-Y! I’m just thankful for the extra day respite (tomorrow’s a holiday – yipee!) so I can recharge and beef up my lunch-making skills some more. 😉

    Reply

  4. Great job on those bentos. Gusto ko din gumawa dati nyan kaya lang walang magbabaon..hehe

    Thanks! Not to worry, pretty soon, your little girl will be in school na rin and you can bento all you want! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by Papa and Mama on 30 October 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Very creative, indeed !! Ang cute ng mga lunch concoctions mo!!

    Thank God for keeping you energized to do all these for your family.

    We love you all.

    Thanks, Pa and Ma! Do pray that I’d be able to keep the energy (and creativity!) up until the end of the school year… hahaha! Love and miss you all too! 😀

    Reply

  6. nice! sana singtyaga mo ako…pede din sguro hingi na lang ako sayo lol.

    Sure, dig in! As I’ve said before, libre tikim… virtual nga lang… 😉

    Reply

  7. CONGRATS! I can just imagine the smiles on the kiddies’ faces ❤

    Thanks so much for your help again! 🙂 Am still a work in progress insofar as my bento-making skills are concerned… 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

