LaPiS: Rolled


It’s only been a few weeks since we ushered in the Year of the Tiger per the Chinese calendar…

So, in keeping with hubby’s “roots”, I thought it would be nice to have a “Chinoy-themed” entry for this week.  😎

Although I sadly wasn’t able to find “authentic” tikoy (sweet sticky rice) in this part of the world, I was pleased to have discovered these babies in a Pinoy bakery in the next town…

Drumrolls and cartwheels are in order for these… Tikoy Rolls! 😀

 

Instead of the usual way of cooking it (dipped in egg and then fried), these “tikoys” come with a twist – they are rolled, sprinkled with sesame seeds  and have custard-like fillings in them – yum!

What’s more, the filling comes in a variety of flavors too – how cool is that? For purposes of this blog, I just chose the ube (purple yam) and pandan variants since I figured their colors would register well in photos – hahaha! 😆

See what I mean? 😉

And for those wanting to know why tikoy plays such an important part in Chinese New Year, read what I found out from Yahoo! Answers below.

Tikoy is a sweet sticky rice cake delicacy also known as nian gao in Chinese. It is a Chinese symbol of prosperity and family unity. It symbolizes the hope that a family would stick together and all be blessed for the New Year.

And may these (virtual) tikoy rolls bring all our families luck and blessings always! Happy LaPiS Sunday to all!

5 responses to this post.

  1. wow! those look mmm, mmm, yummmmy!!!

    Agree with Keith – at least we now know whatto get you when we come home… hehehe! 😀

    Reply

  2. Love those tikoys. I know now what to buy Rina for her pasalubong…hehehe!

    Amen to that 🙂

    Reply

  3. Wow, I’d love to try these. The custard-like filling sounds fabulous!:)

    They’re really very good, Oggi 🙂

    Reply

  4. I suddenly missed our tikoy! Tikoy has a special place in my heart (haha). Basta, and those look especially good, sa kulay pa lang katakamtakam na!

    Care to share why? 😉

    Reply

  5. My 2nd-yr highschool Filipino teacher, who inspired me to walk the paths of Rogelio Sicat, F.Sionil Jose and Angela Gloria would always give me those for lunch….then on graduation day she gave me a whole box na hehehe. Senti ako eh 😉

    Ah, kaya naman pala… senti-koy pala ang dating ng post ko kung ganon – hehehe! 😉 Thanks for sharing, G!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

