Starting the Day Silly


Although breakfast is supposed to be the most important meal of the day, most days it’s usually a “rush-rush affair” for our family.

So whenever I can, like this past weekend, I try and spice things a bit for breakfast (brunch, actually… since we slept in the night before 😳 ).   After all, it isn’t everyday that I get “inspired” to whip up a simple yet silly spread like this…

Join us…

 

…for a silly pancake breakfast!

And here are photos of the “silly pancakes” I especially made for our three gremlins up close…  Sadly for the pancakes, though, it was essentially a “meet and eat” encounter! 😆

 

How did I do it? Fairly simple.  I sandwiched scrambled eggs in between two pancakes and proceeded to make the “face”.  I used sliced bananas for the eyes, blueberries for eyeballs, hotdog tips for noses and cooked bacon for the mouth.  I then styled the “hair” with pancake syrup.  Pretty cool, huh? 😉

At the end of the day, we all agreed: it was definitely a “happy meal” for all of us! Me for being able to put a smile to my kids’ faces (and “hearty burps” from hubby too!) and my three gremlins for having something silly – that was edible too  – for breakfast. 🙂

 

So how did you start your day today?

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. nice! reminds me of the “smiley ketchup” at johnny rockets, only a hundred times better. 🙂

    Oh yeah – the “smiley ketchup” – the only thing we liked at Johnny Rockets – hahaha! Thanks for the compliment, ses! Mwah! 😀

    Reply

  2. Posted by Leap of Faith! on 6 March 2010 at 8:09 pm

    Very creative, Hon! The kids were so excited to see and eat your creations. I like sunny the best.

    Thanks 🙂 Elmo doesn’t look too bad either 😉

    Reply

  3. Ang sarap! and ang cute nyo! 🙂

    Thanks for dropping by, Bang! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

