Shrimps with Green Peas, Water Chestnuts & Cashew


According to the recipe book I got this from (Going East – A Merging of Culinary Styles by Gene R Gonzalez)…

This is a classic dish popularized by the Fookien settlers in the Philippines during the 1900s

Being Chinoy (Chinese-Filipino) by marriage, this naturally appealed to me 😆 so I figured to try it out for lunch today. 

And guess what? I liked  it!  Aside from it being so tasty,  a welcome bonus is that it’s super-easy to prepare!

Just served it a while ago to 2 of 3 gremlins (eldest gremlin is not a big fan of seafood unfortunately…) and both gave their “yummy” seal of approval. 😎  The addition of water chestnuts gave a wonderful crunch and sweetness in almost every bite. It’s just perfect with steamed white jasmine rice too.

Sharing with you the easy recipe right now.  FYI, I doubled the proportions in my version to suit the 1/2 kilo of shrimps I had available.

WHAT YOU NEED: 1 cup peeled and deveined shrimps, 1 tsp minced garlic, 1 tbsp chopped onion, 1 tsp sliced ginger strips, 2 tbsp oyster sauce, 1/2 tbsp soy paste (didn’t have this so used soy sauce instead), 1 tbsp sugar, 1/4 cup quartered water chestnuts, 1/4 cup cashew nuts, 1/4 cup green peas, 1 tbsp Double A powder diluted in 2 tbsp water (did not have this as well), 2 tbsp peanut oil (I used canola), 1 tsp miso (optional – left this out in my version)

HOW TO: Roast cashew 3-4 minutes over low heat and set aside.  Saute garlic, onion and ginger in peanut oil. Add shrimps. Add oyster sauce, sugar, soy paste, miso, water chestnuts and green peas.  Add Double A slurry.  Add cashew and simmer to cook. Serves 3-4.

This also serves as my Seafood entry to this week’s Lasang Pinoy Sundays.

Bon appetit, everyone!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Ooooh, I’ll definitely try this. Thanks for joining us this week 🙂

    It was my pleasure, Dexie… See you again next week! 😉

    Reply

  2. This is one of our favorites. We never get tired of it.:-)

    I know… before I knew about this, we were already enjoying a similar dish in our home called sipo 🙂 Thanks for dropping by!

    Reply

  3. looks yummy! i have to try this some time…

    Please do, Iska… I’m sure you’d be able to improve on it even more! 😀

    Reply

  4. oh i miss this dish! i can just imagine the crunchy cashews against the soft shrimps!

    Actually, what I like more than the cashews would be the crunchy sweet water chestnuts 😉 But yes, this is one dish that our family keeps on going back to too!

    Reply

  5. This is a big hit at home, not just to us but to visitors too. I put in quail eggs too and some more veggies (carrots, kohlrabi/sayote, chicharo)…I checked and it’s the dish you mentioned, Sipo Egg…I never knew that it was called that 😀

    I think this (and sipo) is a staple in many Filipino homes that is why we always make it a point to serve this – even to our guests. Truly brings back memories of home. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

