Chill Thrill


Alas, the comfortably cool days of winter have finally bid us adieu… and – in this part of the world most especially – the heat is most definitely ON!!!  😥 

Goodbye, 20s and 30s… hello 40s! ( just to make it clear – I’m talking about temperature on the Celsius scale here – and NOT my age, okay?) :mrgreen:

Good thing hubby discovered these babies during our recent trip to our favorite Japanese hyakuen (one hundred yen – or the equivalent in riyals – in our case 😉 ) store – Daiso

Yes, what better way to keep cool on a warm summer day than with these…

Homemade popsicle makers – with straws! 😎 I remember having similar contraptions like these when I was little (I think my mom bought it from the roving Tupperware lady) but this is the first time I’ve seen one with straws – perfect for catching those sticky popsicle drips – even before they happen! Now that’s doubly cool if you ask me! 😉 

And so, with hubby’s equally bright idea of freezing some strawberry milk to make the popsicles, it was pretty exciting to see our three gremlins’ wide-eyed anticipation in having their first taste of homemade popsies – something, incidentally, that they also helped in preparing earlier.

The verdict?

What can I say? Leave it to the Japanese to think of amazing innovations to seemingly ordinary and long-forgotten kitchen gadgets.  And at the very reasonable price of SR7 (USD1.86), it’s truly a delightfully cheap (chill) thrill.

A return trip to Daiso is surely in the offing.  Subarashii desu! 😀

 

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Popsicles will really sell fast if your wonderful kids will do the ad campaign heheheh…can’t say more–your kids are really a delight to behold.

    Thanks so much for your kind comment, Orly! 🙂 Hope to see you again in my kitchen soon!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Leap of Faith! on 19 March 2010 at 10:31 am

    Super cool idea – major props to the Japanese!

    Hopefully next time we can have our own ice cream maker – like the one of Weng – para ma-upgrade naman ang popsicle maker natin…hehehe!

    FYI, the chocolate popsicle tasted better than the strawberry and banana flavored ones.

    Tama bang maki-level kay Master Chef Weng at gusto pang magka-ice cream maker? 😉 I say sulitin muna ang mga popsies bago lumevel-up – hehehe! 😆

    Reply

  3. Happy and gorgeous kids you have! Oh wow i like the popsicles! Summer is really here! (I used to be in denial pa kasi hehehe!) I would love to try this! I’m sure my little boy will like it as he loves ice cream and cold juices. I will ask my friend to look for this in Daiso in St. Francis Square 🙂 Happy Summer to you all! 🙂

    Hi Jam! Nice of you to visit again… Do give these popsie makers a test-drive – I’m sure they won’t disappoint and your little boy will be a happy camper 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

