Shrimp Siomai


The past lenten season definitely meant more meatless treats coming out from my tiny kitchen.

One recent favorite was this…

Yummy shrimp siomai (dumplings)!

If I may add, this could also be called the “Munchkin Dumplings” as they were inspired by this recipe. A minor revision was that instead of adding a quarter cup of bamboo shoots, I halved this and then threw in 1/8 cup of chopped water chestnuts to the shrimp mixture for that added sweetness and crunch.  Also, since I still needed more practice in doing the “Shanghai-style” wrapping for the dimsum, I just ended up using the simpler Japanese gyoza wrappers. 😉

The finished product, though not as aesthetically pleasing as my “inspiration dish”, tasted just as good and was promptly “decimated” by my hungry pack of dimsum fanatics! 😆  Here…have a (virtual) taste!

Verdict: For a scheduled “encore” in my kitchen soon! :mrgreen:

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Zara on 8 April 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Ohh, what divine photos, I’m drooling!!

    I have a question, if you don’t mind ^_^. What is grocery shopping and the availability of ingredients (especially for baking) like? Can you find exotic foodstuffs such as phyllo wrappers, sushi materials, chocolate etc etc? Is baking difficult given the heat?

    Forgive me if I come across as ignorant, haha, I mean no offense.

    Have a great day!

    Hi Zara. No offense taken 🙂 As for your questions – there are surprisingly a lot of baking ingredients available here too provided you know the right stores to go to. Phyllo pastry wrappers are very common here since these are actually basic ingredients for a lot of Middle Eastern pastries. Sushi ingredients are likewise readily available in most oriental stores while chocolates are plentiful too (especially since the Arabs fancy these as presents for special occasions).

    Baking isn’t that difficult too and is pretty much the same as when I was in Manila since airconditioning is pretty much the norm here than the exception in most homes (since the price of electricity and gasoline are very cheap compared to the rest of the world).

    Hope I was able to address your questions the best I can. Thanks for dropping by and see you in my kitchen again soon! 😀

    Reply

  2. Yum, yum, yum! Extra na naman ako! Hee hee. Thanks, Pinks! 🙂

    You’re very welcome, “Master” Weng! 😀

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ton on 9 April 2010 at 3:09 am

    is there a sample coming soon? It looks so sumptuous! 🙂

    Hi Ton! That could be arranged… 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by Leap of Faith! on 9 April 2010 at 8:50 am

    Loved this, Hon. The crunchiness of the water chestnuts made it really fun to eat. Hope the encore comes really soon.

    Sure, will mix up a batch this week (I hope!) 😀

    Reply

  5. Posted by jenny on 9 April 2010 at 9:07 am

    mmm it looks yummy!!!! =P

    Thanks, Jen! 😀

    Reply

  6. Posted by arnell on 28 September 2011 at 5:25 pm

    ang sarap-sarap ng siomai hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
    pahingi naman
    ngeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

