Fab French Fungi


Before all of you let out a collective “Eeeeewwww!” at the title of my post, please do read on… I’m sure most of you will hopefully see how close to reality this “claim” is later on …  😉

As mentioned in my previous entry, thanks to my sister’s good friend (our fave French monsieur also known as “Louis Pierre”), we got over our initial biases and were pleasantly acquainted with traditional French cuisine.

Although admittedly a bit pricier than the usual “plate of the day”  in Spain or in Portugal, our gastronomic adventure led us to a quaint and cozy restaurant in the heart of Paris – Truffes Folies – where, you guessed it – the specialty is the so-called “diamond of the kitchen” – the fab fungus that is the truffle.

Sure, I’ve heard of truffles before – why, I’ve even tasted its chocolatey version! 😳  Little did I realize though how chocolate truffles were in a totally different league till I tasted the delicate flavor of the “real thing” – that I too would inevitably fall prey to the charms of this “fungal fruit”- especially after sampling these savory truffle-ized culinary creations…

Too bad I never got around asking the chef what the creamy, sorbet-like scoop was… 😦 It was delicious nonetheless!

How’s this for upping the status of the lowly omelette? 😉

My order. Y-U-M-M-Y.

Hubby’s order. Y-U-M-M-I-E-R!

And for those of us (i.e., my brother) who weren’t huge truffle fans that adventurous with their food, there’s always this…

Still tasty and delish!

Of course, if, for some weird reason, you feel that flavor was still wanting, you can always have dashes of these…

or this  – to ultimately “level up” the “delish factor” of your dish!

Needless to say, our traditional French lunch that day will set the bar “way up” for our future foodie adventures.

And if only for this, I can definitely say, “Vive la France!” 😎

2 responses to this post.

  1. aaah yes, thanks to my “good friend”, you have been converted, and aren’t you glad you were? 🙂 welcome to the other side (the french-food-loving side, that is) — where everything is “foie-bulous”! 🙂 hope we’d get the chance to enjoy more of it.

    Oh yes, we’ve all been converted… and addicted!!! 😆 Praying for more fab French food trips sooner than later…

    Reply

  2. I super love the flavor of truffles. My order was the best – I’ve never tasted risotto that good. Thanks a million to our parisian couple for introducing this one again to us.

    Our only problem now is how to have the budget to have great food like this on a more regular basis. So sad.

    Oh yes, the truffle experience was surely a pleasant “revelation” to us all! 😀 Don’t worry, I’m sure we’d have more truffle lunches and dinners as soon as we’re settled in our new home – don’t worry, be happy! Hehehe! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

